Model assessment · Hamilton Beach

Hamilton Beach FrontFill Mini Brew 5 Cup Switch Coffee Maker review

An earlier, grounds-only FrontFill brewer with an illuminated switch, five-cup glass carafe, Auto Pause & Pour and a compact 10.3 x 5.8 x 8.1-inch body.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Hamilton Beach FrontFill Mini Brew exact model 46112 with black body, stainless trim, glass carafe and illuminated switch; manufacturer does not state photo/render status.
Exact model-coded hero image from the Hamilton Beach 46112 U.S. page. Author inspected the original; it matches the compact switch brewer and glass carafe. Manufacturer does not identify photography versus rendering. Hamilton Beach
A useful fit for

A compact-counter choice for someone who wants a small grounds carafe, front access to water and grounds, and the maker’s separately stated two-large-12-ounce serving amount; include it only when earlier models are in scope.

The main tradeoff

The U.S. maker page says the model is no longer available. Its linked Use & Care file lists 46110 and 46111, not 46112, so timer, auto-off, cup-volume definition, filter details, exact electrical rating, pause interval and warranty remain unverified.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is the 46112 a pod brewer or a compact grounds carafe?

Its exact U.S. page documents ground coffee, a glass carafe and front-fill access; it does not document a pod holder or direct-to-mug route. The linked guide omits 46112 from its model table, so I do not borrow its model-specific brewing details.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I schedule a morning start or choose a Bold setting on the 46112?

The exact page identifies an illuminated on/off switch and does not document a timer or strength setting. If either is essential, choose a model whose exact U.S. page confirms it, such as the related 46113 for its advertised timer and Regular/Bold choices.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the 46112’s five-cup label cover a larger batch?

The manufacturer says up to five cups and separately describes two large 12-ounce cups; it does not define the maker-cup volume for 46112. A requirement above five manufacturer cups is not supported.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Hamilton Beach FrontFill Mini Brew 46112 is an earlier, switch-operated grounds brewer for a small glass carafe—not a pod machine or a direct-to-mug brewer. Its practical case is a narrow countertop where water and grounds are reached from the front and five manufacturer cups are enough. The exact U.S. manufacturer page now says “No Longer Available,” so this is a model-identification and fit review, not a claim that it can be bought new today.

Five maker cups, described for two large mugs

The exact page says the 46112 brews up to five cups and separately describes that amount as two large 12-ounce cups. Those statements are more useful together than treating its “five-cup” label as five ordinary travel mugs. The maker does not define the cup volume on this model page. Its carafe is glass, and the listed brewing path is ground coffee into that carafe. If you need a pod holder, one-cup output into a personal mug, or multiple large servings, this is the wrong format.

The water-level window is a helpful basic cue, but the official page does not publish a removable tank or reservoir-volume specification. “FrontFill” means the water reservoir and swing-open brew basket are accessed from the front; it does not establish that the tank lifts out. When checking an older unit, confirm that the original carafe and brew basket are present and that the basket still swings and latches as intended.

Compact footprint, front access

Hamilton Beach lists the body at 10.3 inches high, 5.8 inches wide and 8.1 inches deep. The maker describes the compact brewer as fitting under kitchen cabinets and highlights front access to water and coffee grounds, so it is a sensible layout for a shallow counter or a shelf where pulling the appliance forward is inconvenient. Measure your actual counter clearance and the lid-opening path: the published height is not a promise that a cabinet shelf will leave enough room to fill it comfortably.

The exact page identifies an illuminated on/off switch rather than advertising a clock or scheduled brew. It also says the 46112 is smart-plug compatible, with the smart plug sold separately and compatibility listed for Alexa, Google Home and Siri. That external accessory is not a built-in brew timer; expect to add water and grounds yourself, and do not assume an unattended schedule or automatic shutoff unless the exact appliance documentation confirms it.

Pause-and-pour and cleaning

Auto Pause & Pour is useful when someone wants an early cup before the carafe finishes filling: the product page says coffee flow pauses when the carafe is removed. The exact page also calls the glass carafe and Lift & Clean brew basket dishwasher safe. Those are specific, useful maintenance claims for this model. The page does not state a safe pause duration, filter shape, paper-filter size, or whether a permanent filter came in the box.

There is an important documentation limit. The exact 46112 page links Use & Care file 840334001, but the guide’s printed model table names 46110 and 46111, not 46112. I therefore do not transfer that guide’s 5-ounce maker-cup definition, electrical rating, filter directions, 20-second pause rule, automatic-shutoff instructions or warranty term to this model. If you are considering a used unit, check its rating label and obtain instructions for the exact code before relying on electrical or cleaning details.

Which Mini Brew makes more sense?

The closest documented alternative is Hamilton Beach’s Mini Brew 46113. Its exact U.S. page describes the same five-cup, front-fill glass-carafe shape, but adds Easy-Touch programming up to 24 hours and Regular/Bold choices. That is the key choice: the 46112 page presents a simple switch version, while the 46113 page explicitly lists scheduling and strength selection. If waking to a programmed pot or changing strength is essential, favor a model whose exact page documents those functions rather than assuming the 46112 has them.

The 46112 is the better fit only when the small carafe, front access and straightforward switch routine solve the real problem. A larger conventional carafe machine is more practical for serving a group; a single-serve brewer is more suitable when each person wants a separate cup. The 46112’s modest capacity can reduce the temptation to brew a full pot, but it also means another cycle for anyone who routinely wants more than the maker’s stated two large mugs.

Bottom line

Keep the 46112 on a shortlist only for a verified, earlier offer in good condition: compact dimensions, front access, a glass five-cup carafe, Auto Pause & Pour and an illuminated switch are its documented strengths. Do not buy it expecting pods, an independently confirmed timer, bold control, a removable reservoir, or a particular filter package. The manufacturer marks the model no longer available, and the linked guide does not identify this model in its printed table. For a current purchase, compare the documented Mini Brew 46113 or another current-reference brewer that meets the required routine; use the exact “46112” model number for any used-item search.

Evidence: Hamilton Beach model 46112 page and its linked Use & Care file 840334001; the guide-model mismatch is described above.

Key details at a glance

Coffee formatsgrounds
Brew styleshot
Pod serving size or maximum oz
Finished-coffee serving vesselCarafe
Carafe capacity5 cups
CarafeGlass carafe
Documented single-cup servings or maximums oz
Single-serve grounds sizes oz

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Match the carafe to your coffee routine.

Choose between a warming plate and an insulated pot, then check what the exact box includes.