Model assessment · Hamilton Beach

Hamilton Beach 12 Cup Programmable Coffee Maker with 3 Settings 49615 review

A grounds-only 12-cup glass-carafe drip brewer with Regular and Bold strength choices, a dedicated 1–4 cup carafe setting, programmable start and a two-hour automatic shutoff.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Hamilton Beach 49615 black and stainless programmable drip coffee maker with glass carafe
Exact 49615 image embedded in the U.S. product page. The manufacturer does not identify photo versus render, and the staged image does not establish package contents. Hamilton Beach
A useful fit for

A household that wants a scheduled grounds-only glass pot, a 1–4 cup smaller carafe cycle, Regular/Bold choice and a two-hour warming-plate cutoff in a listed 7.3-inch-wide body.

The main tradeoff

The 1–4 option still brews into the glass carafe; it is not pod or direct-mug service. A two-hour shutoff is the documented limit, not an adjustable or measured-temperature guarantee. The exact page does not establish a lead-time maximum or whether a reusable permanent coffee filter is included.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can exact 49615 brew grounds into a glass carafe rated for 12 maker cups?

Yes. The exact U.S. product page names the 12-cup carafe and the model-linked manual describes the grounds-and-basket brewing routine. The maker does not equate those 12 marks with twelve large mugs.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does its 1–4 cup option make a smaller carafe batch while retaining at least the documented two-hour plate cutoff?

Yes. The exact page calls out the dedicated 1–4-cup brew option and the two-hour automatic shutoff. The small batch is a carafe cycle, not a direct single cup.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the warming plate meet a three-hour automatic shutoff minimum?

No. The exact page and manual establish a two-hour automatic shutoff, not a three-hour or adjustable plate interval.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a reusable permanent coffee filter confirmed in the exact 49615 package?

No. The guide allows a permanent filter, and the exact page lists a nylon Permanent Filter under parts and accessories, but the page does not state a complete box list. Treat package inclusion as unknown and do not use it to satisfy an essential need.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does this carafe brewer offer a compatible pod or direct-to-mug route?

No such route is documented for exact 49615. Its page and guide describe grounds brewing into a 12-cup glass carafe; use a specifically documented single-serve brewer if pods or direct mug brewing are essential.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Hamilton Beach 49615 is a 12-cup programmable drip brewer for people who still want a glass pot, but would use a timer, a smaller 1–4 cup batch option, and a choice between Regular and Bold. Those controls change the routine without changing the serving vessel: the coffee brews into the glass carafe arrangement described by Hamilton Beach, not into a personal mug one cup at a time.

Hamilton Beach 49615 black and stainless programmable drip coffee maker with 12-cup glass carafe
Exact 49615 model image embedded on Hamilton Beach’s U.S. product page. The maker does not specify whether it is a photograph or a rendering; the staged product image does not prove any accessory is included. Exact 49615 product page.

Three choices, but still a pot

The front control offers Regular, Bold, and a dedicated 1–4 cup setting. That third setting is a smaller carafe brew, useful when you want less coffee than a full pot; it is not a direct-to-mug or pod function. If a personal cup with no separate pouring step is essential, look at a single-serve brewer with a documented outlet for the cup or travel mug. If you need the maker to accept both pods and ground coffee, a FlexBrew model is a different product family and should be assessed by its exact model and pod adapter.

Hamilton Beach rates this glass-carafe unit at 12 cups. The company’s guide does not convert that maker cup mark to a fluid-ounce mug size, so do not read “12 cup” as twelve large servings. The 1–4 control changes the batch routine, but does not change the serving arrangement or turn the carafe into a thermal pot. Coffee stays on a nonstick warming plate, and the exact page documents automatic shutoff after two hours. Treat that as a stated appliance shutoff, not a measured temperature guarantee or an adjustable hold-time range.

Program the start; plan for the cutoff

The exact U.S. listing and its linked Use & Care guide establish a clock and a programmable start. The guide’s sequence is to set the clock with the hour and minute buttons, hold PROG while choosing the desired start, and press PROG to arm or cancel the automatic brew. It does not state a maximum lead-time window, so I would describe the model as scheduled-start rather than promise a particular number of hours. This is useful if you want a ready pot at a routine time, but you still need to measure the grounds and water before the programmed cycle.

The two-hour automatic shutoff is a real convenience for someone who may forget the warmer. It is also a firm limit: buyers who need a three- or four-hour electric-plate interval should not infer that capability from the word “programmable.” Hamilton Beach lists other products with different warm-time behaviors; check the exact product page and guide rather than transferring options across a similar-looking black-and-stainless body.

Auto Pause & Serve lets you lift the carafe for an early pour. The guide says to put it back within 20 seconds to help prevent the basket from overflowing. It is a short interruption while the cycle runs, not a promise that the basket can remain open or the pot can be left off the plate for the rest of brewing. Keep the lid secured and carafe seated as directed.

Filter and cleaning details worth noticing

The use guide describes a basket-style paper filter, called a cupcake-style filter in its instructions, and says a permanent filter may also be used. The 49615 parts-and-accessories panel lists a nylon permanent filter separately. That panel is not a complete box-content list, so whether a reusable coffee filter is included with a particular retail package remains unconfirmed. Do not confuse that coffee filter with the optional charcoal water filter; if you use the water filter, the guide recommends replacement every 60 cycles.

The removable brew basket and glass carafe are top-rack dishwasher-safe, while the hot plate wipes clean. For routine care, the guide recommends cleaning monthly, or weekly in a hard-water area, using vinegar followed by two or three clean-water brews. That is a more involved routine than rinsing only a reusable pod basket, but it is familiar drip-machine maintenance. The manual also cautions that the glass pot and warming plate can remain hot, and that a cracked carafe should not be used.

The published dimensions are 12.8 inches high, 7.3 inches wide, and 10.8 inches deep. The narrow listed width can help on a crowded counter, but leave clearance to lift the lid and handle the glass carafe. The guide’s model table names base 49615, type A109, 120 volts, 60 Hz, and 900 watts. It carries a one-year U.S. limited warranty described in the guide; glass and filters are excluded from that warranty.

Who should choose the 49615?

This model suits a household that wants a scheduled grounds-to-glass-carafe routine, sometimes makes a smaller carafe batch, prefers a Bold option, and values a two-hour shutoff. The 49615 is more feature-rich than a manual-switch machine such as Hamilton Beach’s 49316RG: its exact documentation establishes a start timer, Regular/Bold, and 1–4 carafe setting, while the 49316RG listing does not establish those controls. Compared with Hamilton Beach’s 46290J, the 49615 publishes similar broad choices, while its own listing gives a narrower 7.3-inch width; compare the actual dimensions and exact package, not just the shared 12-cup label.

Choose something else if you require pods, fresh single-cup brewing into a mug, a thermal carafe, a longer or adjustable plate interval, or confirmed reusable-filter inclusion. Check the maker’s exact 49615 page and Use & Care guide for the product and operating instructions. For retail research, use an exact-model search for Hamilton Beach 49615; no ASIN, stock status, current price, or individual seller offer is asserted here.

Key details at a glance

Coffee formatsgrounds
Brew styleshot
Pod serving size or maximum oz
Over Ice single-serve size[] oz
Finished-coffee serving vesselCarafe
Carafe capacity12 cups
CarafeGlass carafe
How a finished batch stays warmElectric warming plate
Adjustable warming-plate temperatureNo
Bold/Regular strength controlYes
Dedicated 1–4 cup batch settingYes
Separate hot-water routeNo
Electrical input900 W
Voltage120 V
Documented single-cup servings or maximums oz
Cold Brew with groundsNo
Over Ice with podsNo
Single-serve grounds sizes oz
Strength-control choices2 settings

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Match the carafe to your coffee routine.

Choose between a warming plate and an insulated pot, then check what the exact box includes.