Model assessment · Hamilton Beach

Hamilton Beach Programmable 12 Cup Coffee Maker with Stainless Steel Accents 49630J review

A grounds-only 12-cup glass-carafe drip brewer with Regular, Bold and 1–4 cup options, a programmable start, Auto Pause & Pour and a two-hour automatic plate shutoff.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Hamilton Beach 49630J programmable drip coffee maker with stainless steel accents and glass carafe
Exact 49630J-family image embedded on the U.S. maker page; the manufacturer does not identify photograph versus rendering. Hamilton Beach
A useful fit for

A household wanting one scheduled hot grounds-to-glass 12-cup pot, an occasional smaller 1–4 cup batch and Regular/Bold choices, with a published two-hour plate shutoff.

The main tradeoff

The 1–4 option is still a carafe brew, not a single-mug or pod function. The exact page and guide do not document an Over Ice mode, a maximum scheduled-start lead time, removable-tank capacity or included permanent-filter package contents.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can the exact 49630J brew ground coffee into a 12-cup glass carafe with Regular or Bold strength?

Yes. Its exact U.S. page identifies the 12-cup glass-carafe brewer and Regular/Bold options; the directly linked manual specifies the basket-style grounds routine. The maker cup mark is not equated with a large mug.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I use a smaller 1–4 cup carafe setting and keep the plate for at least the documented two-hour cutoff?

Yes. The exact listing gives a 1–4 cup brew option and a two-hour automatic shutoff. The 1–4 setting is for a smaller pot, not a direct-to-mug brew.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can it schedule a grounds carafe cycle without relying on a reusable filter being in the retail box?

Yes, for the grounds-to-carafe routine. The guide specifies a #4 basket-style paper filter path and programmable start; the page lists a nylon permanent filter separately as an accessory and does not give a full box list. Do not treat that filter as confirmed included.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will an unknown box inclusion count as a confirmed permanent filter?

No. The exact product listing provides no complete box-contents list for that filter; an optional filter appearing in the parts panel does not prove it ships with this unit.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Hamilton Beach 49630J is a conventional 12-cup programmable drip maker for a household that wants a glass pot, a wake-up timer and a smaller-batch option, but does not need pods or a coffee shop menu. The maker documents Regular and Bold brew choices, a 1–4 cup setting, a programmable start, Auto Pause & Pour and a two-hour automatic shutoff. It remains a batch brewer, not a one-cup outlet.

Hamilton Beach 49630J programmable drip coffee maker with stainless accents and glass carafe
Exact-model image embedded on the Hamilton Beach U.S. product page. The maker does not identify whether the image is a photograph or a rendering. Hamilton Beach 49630J product page.

A familiar grounds-to-carafe routine

The published 12-cup capacity is a carafe mark, not a promise of twelve large mugs. The linked Use & Care guide describes ground coffee in a removable basket, using a #4 basket-style paper filter; it says a permanent filter may also be used. Its starting recipe is one level tablespoon, or about 5 grams, of coffee for each maker cup. That is a baseline, not a taste guarantee; grind, freshness, water and ratio still matter.

Before brewing, you fill the water reservoir from the carafe and set the basket and glass pot in place. The page calls out a large front-facing water window and convenient cord storage. It does not list pods, a direct-to-mug outlet, hot-water dispensing or an Over Ice program. If any of those is a must-have, compare a documented single-serve or iced model instead of reading extra functions into a similar black-and-stainless finish.

Three controls make the pot more flexible

Regular and Bold adjust the machine's stated brew option, while the dedicated 1–4 cup selection is intended for a smaller pot. That combination is useful if the household makes a full carafe on some mornings and only a few cups on others. It is not a choice of ounce-sized single servings. A person making one travel mug will still have a separate carafe and pour step, so a compact single-serve brewer such as the Hamilton Beach The Scoop or a pod unit may fit better.

The clock lets you program a start time the night before. The manual explains setting the clock and arming or canceling the program, but it does not state a maximum number of hours ahead; the safe description is simply “programmable start.” After brewing, the plate keeps the glass pot warm for up to the documented two-hour shutoff. That is an automatic power limit, not a measured coffee-temperature promise or an adjustable warming interval. If your routine needs a three- or four-hour plate setting, this isn't the one to assume will comply.

Auto Pause & Pour is another small convenience: lift the carafe briefly to pour before the brew finishes, then return it within 20 seconds as the guide directs. Leaving the carafe away longer risks the basket overflowing. This feature does not replace the pot with a thermal vessel or let you serve indefinitely mid-cycle.

Footprint, cleanup and maintenance

Hamilton Beach lists the body at 12.9 inches high, 8.4 inches wide and 10.3 inches deep. That width is noticeably greater than the 7.3-inch width listed for the 49615, while the 49630J is listed half an inch shallower. Measure the counter and allow extra room above the lid and in front of the glass pot; the height is not the only clearance that matters when filling and pouring.

The exact product page says the glass carafe and removable brew basket are dishwasher safe. The manual narrows that to the top rack and warns against the sanitize setting because its high temperatures can damage parts. For mineral buildup, it recommends at least monthly cleaning, or weekly in hard-water areas: use two cups of vinegar, begin brewing and stop after about 30 seconds, wait 30 minutes, finish the cycle and follow with two or three clean-water cycles. That is more upkeep than rinsing a pod holder, but it is a plain routine for a glass-carafe brewer.

The manual's model table lists 49630 with type A150 and 120 volts, 60 Hz, 900 watts, then explains that listed models may carry suffix letters. The exact 49630J U.S. page links that guide and separately identifies the suffix model. The guide provides a one-year U.S. limited warranty; glass and filters are excluded. Hamilton Beach lists a nylon permanent filter among parts and accessories, but not in a complete box-contents list, so its inclusion with a retail package is not established. The reservoir's fluid capacity and whether it can be removed are also not stated in the sources reviewed.

How it compares with similar 12-cup machines

The 49615 is the closest straightforward comparison: it also has a glass carafe, scheduled start, Regular/Bold, 1–4 cup option and a two-hour plate cutoff. The practical distinction documented on their pages is the body: the 49615 is narrower at 7.3 inches, whereas the 49630J is 8.4 inches wide and slightly shallower. Choose by the actual counter space and exact package, not by assuming all 12-cup Hamilton Beach machines share the same dimensions or accessories.

The 49620J keeps a similar pot-and-timer idea but adds a manual-documented grounds Over Ice recipe. The 49630J page does not document that mode, so it suits someone who mainly wants hot carafe coffee. A simpler switch model such as the 49316RG can be a better fit if programming and brew options do not matter. In the other direction, if pods, a thermal carafe or a one-cup outlet matter, these carafe models are the wrong format.

In short, choose the 49630J for a scheduled hot pot, optional Bold strength and repeatable small-carafe batches, while accepting the glass vessel and two-hour plate limit. Check the exact model page and linked Use & Care guide for operating details. For retail comparison, use a model-term search for Hamilton Beach 49630J programmable coffee maker; no ASIN, price, stock status or seller offer is asserted here.

Key details at a glance

Coffee formatsgrounds
Brew styleshot
Pod serving size or maximum oz
Finished-coffee serving vesselCarafe
Carafe capacity12 cups
CarafeGlass carafe
How a finished batch stays warmElectric warming plate
Bold/Regular strength controlYes
Dedicated 1–4 cup batch settingYes
Electrical input900 W
Voltage120 V
Documented single-cup servings or maximums oz
Cold Brew with groundsNo
Over Ice with podsNo
Single-serve grounds sizes oz
Strength-control choices2 settings

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Match the carafe to your coffee routine.

Choose between a warming plate and an insulated pot, then check what the exact box includes.