Model assessment · Keurig

Keurig K-Duo Hot & Iced Single Serve & Carafe Coffee Maker (Gen 2) review

A two-route home brewer with K-Cup single servings and a separate grounds-and-carafe routine, sharing one removable 72-ounce reservoir. The single-serve path has 6/8/10/12-ounce choices, Strong, X-HOT and pod Over Ice; the carafe uses a paper-filter basket and a two-hour heating plate.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Keurig K-Duo Hot & Iced Gen 2 with separate K-Cup cup position and grounds carafe on a warming plate
Exact image asset 5000396548 linked in the Keurig U.S. K-Duo Gen 2 gallery. It appears to be a polished product rendering; Keurig does not label photo/render status. The iced glass and cup are props, not box-content proof. Carafe material is not established from this image. Keurig
A useful fit for

A household that genuinely uses K-Cup pods for single servings and ground coffee for a carafe batch, and wants a shared 72-ounce reservoir plus pod Over Ice and a timed warming-plate routine in one machine.

The main tradeoff

The two formats use different chambers and are not simultaneous: single servings use K-Cup pods, while carafe coffee uses grounds and a flat-bottom paper filter. Over Ice is only for a single pod cup, the glass-versus-other carafe material is not stated in the U.S. guide, a reusable filter's box inclusion is unconfirmed, and the plate turns off after two hours.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can one machine make a K-Cup pod cup on a weekday and a grounds carafe batch for a group?

Yes. The single-serve holder takes K-Cup pods; the separate filter basket takes ground coffee for a carafe. Both routes draw from the same reservoir, but one does not turn the pod chamber into a grounds cup.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I make a 12-ounce iced pod drink, and is that the same as cold brew?

The exact-model comparison chart lists a 12-ounce single-serve size, and the Use & Care Guide documents a single-serve Brew Over Ice cycle. Keurig says it adjusts brewing temperature and warns not to brew over ice into glass. It is not a grounds-steeped Cold Brew mode.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I program a carafe batch and leave it on a hot plate?

The guide describes a carafe Auto Brew schedule up to 24 hours ahead. After brewing, the heating plate remains on for two hours unless you turn it off sooner; Pause & Pour is available, with a warning about leaving the carafe off the plate too long.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Keurig K-Duo Hot & Iced Gen 2 is a real two-routine brewer, not a single-serve machine that merely makes a larger pod cup. Its pod holder brews one cup at a time, while a separate basket and carafe brew ground coffee. Those paths share one water reservoir, so the appeal is a single counter appliance for weekday K-Cup use and a larger grounds batch when the table needs it. The tradeoff is that you are maintaining two brewing routes and a warming plate, rather than getting the simple footprint of a pod-only brewer.

Two coffee inputs, but not in the same basket

The single-cup routine is K-Cup based: place a mug, load a pod, choose 6, 8, 10, or 12 ounces, and start the brew. The official guide also documents Strong Brew and X-HOT controls on that single-serve side. Keurig describes MultiStream technology as part of the machine's brewing system. These are controls and brand-described features, not independent evidence that a particular setting will make a cup taste better. Grounds use the carafe-side filter basket instead. The guide calls for a flat-bottom 12-cup paper filter and gives a starting amount of one tablespoon of grounds per cup; it warns that exceeding 15 tablespoons for regular coffee or 12 for decaf can cause overflow.

That division matters when you set a requirement. If you want pods for one person and a batch from grounds for everyone else, this model has a documented route for both in one machine. If you specifically want to load grounds into the one-cup brewer or require an included reusable single-cup filter, do not assume the carafe basket covers that need. The manual I checked describes K-Cup pods on the single-serve side and grounds in the carafe basket; it does not establish a single-cup grounds filter in the box.

Over Ice is a pod setting, not cold brew

The dedicated Brew Over Ice cycle is for single-serve brewing. Keurig says it starts hotter and then changes the brew temperature to reduce ice melt, and the guide explicitly says not to brew hot over ice into glass. That is a useful distinction from pouring an ordinary hot pod cup over ice, but it is not a grounds-steeped Cold Brew program or a brewer that chills coffee. If your essential drink is a cold extraction from grounds, look for a model with a separately documented Cold Brew mode. If you mostly want a quick iced pod drink, this model combines that with a carafe option that many compact pod machines lack.

The Strong button is also limited to the pod routine: the guide says to select a single-serve size and then Strong. X-HOT is another single-serve choice, but Keurig does not provide a temperature range in the materials I reviewed. Do not mistake it for a user-set brewing-temperature dial. X-HOT is not a temperature dial: the reviewed materials provide no selectable range. A four-ounce pod need also changes the answer; the documented menu starts at six ounces.

A programmed carafe with a timed plate

The carafe side supports an Auto Brew schedule set up to 24 hours ahead. After brewing, the heating plate comes on automatically and remains on for two hours; the guide says you can turn it off sooner by holding the CUPS button. Pause & Pour lets you take a cup during the brew, but the manual warns that leaving the carafe off the plate for more than 20 seconds may let the filter basket overflow. Its storage instructions call for a 12-cup carafe cycle, and the flat-bottom filter is specified as 12-cup size. If you prefer coffee kept hot in an insulated pot without an active plate, compare a thermal-carafe model instead.

The official product image depicts a clear carafe, but the U.S. guide's text calls it simply a carafe and does not state its material. I have not used the rendering alone to treat glass as a confirmed specification. The heating method is confirmed; the carafe material remains a check-before-buying detail if glass versus thermal construction is essential. The guide describes adding a flat-bottom paper filter, but does not confirm a reusable mesh basket in the box.

Shared reservoir, upkeep, and fit

Keurig's U.S. product page identifies one 72-ounce reservoir for the machine, and the use-and-care guide explains that the reservoir lifts straight up for removal and filling. It is one shared tank, not two separate water stores. The manual describes a clock that must be set for Auto Brew, separate single-cup and carafe cleansing cycles, hand-washing the carafe and basket parts, and descaling every three months or when the descale light appears. The reservoir and lid should not go in the dishwasher. If a sweetened pod has been brewed, Keurig recommends a rinse pod or cleansing brew to help keep the needles clear. It is not a no-maintenance system: a dual-format machine adds the carafe basket, paper filters, carafe, warming surface, and pod holder to your normal cleanup.

Who should choose it—and who should pass

Choose the K-Duo Gen 2 if one household actually needs both single K-Cup cups and ground-coffee carafes, values a shared 72-ounce reservoir, and will use the iced, Strong, X-HOT, or scheduled-pot options. The questionnaire changes its fit when both brew sources are essential, when you need a pod Over Ice route, or when a carafe's two-hour plate is acceptable. A 12-ounce pod choice does not replace a pot; the machine must switch to its CUPS/carafe route for that. If you only drink pods, a K-Elite is a more direct comparison with its own documented cup controls and hot-water function. If you need an insulated carafe, a small four-ounce cup, a separate hot-water faucet, grounds Cold Brew, or a confirmed included mesh filter, do not let the “Hot & Iced” or “Gen 2” label imply those features. Check the exact retail box and current manual for any package detail that the guide leaves open.

Key details at a glance

Coffee formatspods / grounds
Brew styleshot / over_ice
Integrated coffee grinderNo
Grounds brew-size choices4
Pod serving size or maximum6 / 8 / 10 / 12 oz
Finished-coffee serving vesselSeparate carafe
Carafe capacity12 cups
How a finished batch stays warmElectric warming plate
Adjustable warming-plate temperatureNo
Bold/Regular strength controlYes
Dedicated 1–4 cup batch settingNo
Single-serve grounds cup includedNo
Removable reservoir72 oz
Single-serve water reservoir72 oz
Separate hot-water routeNo
Manual steam wandNo
Milk-frothing tool includedNo
Milk-frothing tool heats milkNo
Drip-side water reservoir72 oz
Cold Brew with groundsNo
Over Ice with podsYes
Strength-control choices['regular', 'strong'] settings
Temperature-control choices['standard', 'x_hot'] settings

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Match the carafe to your coffee routine.

Choose between a warming plate and an insulated pot, then check what the exact box includes.